Home > Innovation > BMZ digilab
Innovation

BMZ digilab

At BMZ digilab, we scout for innovative technologies geared to international development cooperation and help the most innovative approaches to scale their impact.

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

The booster for great ideas

With  unconventional and agile ways of working known from the start-up world, we give concepts and prototypes the boost they need if they are to develop in ways that are appropriate and specific to different countries and sectors. We help project teams, founders and entrepreneurs turn their ideas into reality by applying creative working methods. Working closely with the global tech industry, civil society and academia, we provide them with tools to harness their digital potential. As a springboard for digital innovation, we promote a sustainable world – lasting for future generations.

Our objective

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) can no longer be achieved without digital approaches and innovations. Only innovative key technologies can both improve the lives of millions of people and scale up the effectiveness of our work. For this reason, digilab has three fundamental objectives:

  1. Scouting: We work with start-ups, the global tech industry, civil society and academia to identify digital innovations.
  2. Scaling Impact: We give breadth to successful digital innovative solutions, bringing real leaps in development to millions of people worldwide.
  3. Change in Work Culture: At BMZ, we are introducing new agile working methods, overcoming silo thinking and promoting knowledge management and networking.

Our approach

At BMZ digilab, our focus is on how we can help tried-and-tested digital innovations become projects with global impact (‘scaling’).

This work is based on a partnership of equals. Our cooperation is uncomplicated, open and transparent. All stakeholders are involved in our scaling-up processes from the outset. We use agile project management and new working methods to provide the right framework for productive collaboration.

Our scaling-up approach is flexible and comprises various phases. Instead of applying a rigid process, we attach importance to being able to respond quickly to the needs of partners and target groups. We have our ideas tested repeatedly, adapt them continuously and involve our partners closely. All in line with our guiding principle: the journey is the reward.

  • During the first phase (‘scouting’), we get an overview of the development policy needs and existing digital approaches both at BMZ and across our extensive network of partners. We are also open to external ideas – so write to us if you have a digital innovation you would like to scale up with us.

Our team

We are a dynamic team of innovation enthusiasts drawn from BMZ, GIZ, KfW and the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. Our team is built on interdisciplinarity, team spirit and passion. We combine expertise from development cooperation, the digital economy, innovation research and agile project management. The wide-ranging professional capacities and creativity of our supporter network enable us to drive forward the innovative power of German development cooperation at full speed.

Our lab

digilab is an inspiration, showcase, creative space and event venue in the heart of Berlin. Why not come in and get a taste of co-working at BMZ?

Our success stories

Discover the digilab success stories in our project overview.

Contact

Do you have scaling-up ideas for innovative digital projects? Perhaps you’re planning an event that reflects our goals? Or are interested simply in working with a team of doers?

If so, BMZ digilab is the right place for you. We provide support with a wide range of event formats, an agile methodology kit and can put you in touch with our extensive network of partners.

Write us an e-mail!

Home > Innovation > BMZ digilab
Innovation

BMZ digilab

Im BMZ digilab scouten wir innovative Technologien für die internationale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und verhelfen den innovativsten Ansätzen, ihre Wirkung zu vervielfältigen.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Der Turbo für beste Ideen

Unkonventionell wie ein Start-up geben wir Konzepten und Prototypen den nötigen Boost, um sie passend und spezifisch für unterschiedliche Länder und Sektoren weiterzuentwickeln. Wir unterstützen Projektteams, Gründerinnen und Gründern durch kreative Arbeitsmethoden, ihre Ideen zu verwirklichen. Wir versorgen sie in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der globalen Tech-Industrie, Zivilgesellschaft und Wissenschaft mit Instrumenten, um ihr digitales Potenzial zu entfalten. Als Sprungbrett für digitale Innovationen fördern wir so eine nachhaltige zukunftsfähige Welt.

Unser Ziel

Ohne digitale Ansätze und Innovationen können die Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) nicht mehr erreichet werden. Nur durch neue Schlüsseltechnologien kann das Leben von Millionen Menschen verbessert und auch die Wirksamkeit unserer Arbeit vervielfacht werden. Das digilab verfolgt daher drei grundlegende Ziele:

  1. Scouting: Wir identifizieren digitale Innovationen, zusammen mit Start-ups, der globalen Tech-Industrie, der Zivilgesellschaft und der Wissenschaft.
  2. Skalieren: Wir bringen erfolgreiche digitale innovative Lösungen in die Breite, um mit echten Entwicklungssprüngen Millionen Menschen weltweit zu erreichen.
  3. Wandel Arbeitskultur: Wir führen im BMZ neue agile Arbeitsmethoden ein, überwinden Silodenken und fördern so Wissensmanagement und Vernetzung.

Unser Ansatz

Im BMZ digilab beschäftigen wir uns damit, wie wir bereits erprobte digitale Innovationen zu Projekten mit globaler Wirkung verhelfen können („Scaling“).

Wir setzen hierbei auf einen partnerschaftlichen Umgang auf Augenhöhe. Wir gestalten die Zusammenarbeit dabei unkompliziert, offen und transparent. Von Anfang an binden wir alle Akteure in unsere Skalierungsprozesse ein. Wir nutzen agiles Projektmanagement und New Work-Methoden, um den passenden Rahmen für eine produktive Zusammenarbeit zu bieten.

Unser Skalierungsansatz ist flexibel und besteht aus unterschiedlichen Phasen. Statt eines starren Prozesses ist uns wichtig, dass wir schnell auf den Bedarf der Partner und der Zielgruppen eingehen können. Wir lassen unsere Ideen immer wieder testen, passen sie laufend an und binden unsere Partner eng ein. Dabei gilt: Der Weg ist das Ziel.

  • In der ersten Phase (“Scouting”) verschaffen wir uns einen Überblick über den entwicklungspolitischen Bedarfen und die existierenden digitalen Ansätze sowohl im BMZ als auch in unserem breiten Partnernetzwerk. Außerdem sind wir offen für Ideen von außen – schreiben Sie uns, wenn Sie eine digitale Innovation mit uns skalieren wollen.

Unser Team

Wir sind ein dynamisches Team aus Innovations-Enthusiastinnen und Enthusiasten des BMZ, der GIZ, der KfW und der Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. Unser Team ist geprägt von Interdisziplinarität, Teamgeist und Leidenschaft. Gemeinsam bündeln wir Kompetenzen aus der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, Digitalwirtschaft, Innovationsforschung und agilem Projektmanagement. Die breite Fachkompetenz und Kreativität unseres Unterstützernetzwerks ermöglicht uns, die Innovationskraft der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit mit voller Geschwindigkeit voranzutreiben.

Unser Lab

Das digilab ist Inspiration, Schaufenster, Kreativraum und Veranstaltungsort mitten in Berlin. Kommen Sie vorbei und gewinnen Sie einen ersten Eindruck beim gemeinsamen Co-Working im BMZ.

Unsere Success Stories

Entdecken Sie die Erfolgsgeschichten des digilabs in unserer Projektübersicht.

Kontakt

Haben Sie Skalierungsideen für innovative Digitalprojekte? Planen Sie ein Event mit Bezug zu unseren Zielen? Oder interessieren Sie sich einfach für die Zusammenarbeit mit einem Macher-Team?

Dann sind Sie genau richtig beim digilab des BMZ. Wir unterstützen Sie mit verschiedenen Eventformaten, einem agilen Methodenkoffer oder vernetzen Sie mit unserem breiten Partnernetzwerk.

Kontaktieren Sie uns