Home > GovStack

GovStack

Accelerating the digital transformation of government services

At a glance

Digital government services – which have exploded throughout the world over the last 20 years – are vital for developing a digital economy and promoting economic well-being, enabling new opportunities that might not have been accessible before. They also have the opportunity to help governments build digital societies, ones which not only pursue gains in productivity and economic diversification, but which enable digital access and inclusion for their citizens.

With the advent of expanding digital infrastructure, connectivity, and mobile phone penetration, digital government services can also support transactions and marketplaces that are on-demand, paperless, cashless, and available everywhere. For citizens, digital government services can increase access to critical and sometimes life-saving services such as health, education, and social protection.

Many countries, particularly in low-resource settings, struggle to keep pace with the digitalization of government services. The major challenges are coordination, securing funding, scaling solutions, and siloed thinking and investment often resulting in duplication of efforts. However, many countries do not have the resources to reinvent the wheel or to duplicate investments. They need to invest in multi-purpose and cross-sector e-government solutions which are easier to design, implement, and scale.
This is where a “whole-of-government” approach helps governments to focus on providing innovative services and solutions that provide re-usability, interoperability and security by design to citizens, businesses and the public sector.


This video introduces and summarizes DIAL and ITU’s SDG Digital Investment Framework on which the GovStack approach is built on. It aims to help countries make smarter and more strategic decisions in their ICT investments.

To protect your personal data, the connection to YouTube is blocked. By clicking the play button, you unblock the connection. At the same time, YouTube/Google will receive personal data about your access to the website.

Our approach

The GovStack Initiative, founded by Estonia, Germany, International Telecommunication Union (ITU) and Digital Impact Alliance (DIAL) in 2020, aims to build a common framework and technical practice for the design of reusable and interoperable digital components – referred to as “digital building blocks” – needed to digitally transform government.

By investing in digital building blocks, that in combination provide key functionalities to facilitate generic workflows and which are easier to design, implement, and scale across multiple sectors, GovStack is set out to help governments simplify the cost, time, and resource requirements necessary to create or modify their digital platforms, services, and applications. Moreover, by utilizing knowledge from leading digital government examples, GovStack aims to accelerate the effectiveness of core functions and services in partner governments, to reduce unnecessary duplication of systems, combat fraud and corruption by increasing the security and traceability of transactions, and improve civic engagement and accountability. Against this backdrop GovStack strives to accelerate countries’ ownership of e-gov. solutions and in doing so improve services for social well-being.

Examples of Building Blocks:

This diagram exemplifies on how Building Blocks as generically defined software components can provide key functionalities to facilitate generic workflows common across multiple sectors.

Our goal

In cooperation with partners from the local digital ecosystem and in line with the Digital Investment Framework of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and the Digital Impact Alliance (DIAL) the GovStack approach starts with research and development to inform design specifications based on best practices of generic reusable digital components, or building blocks. Next, the collaboration will move towards creating a model digital government services platform – building on the already existing Catalog of Digital Solutions of DIAL –, which will demonstrate elements of reuse across services and sectors (i.e., use cases). The design specifications and the resulting government platform model will be available as “digital public goods” for use by the global community, with a focus on procurement and implementation in a low-resource context. To test digital administrative applications, pilots will also be conducted by digital ecosystem partners in partner countries, and communities of practice will also be established.


Here is an outline of the three main activity areas of GovStack:

This site uses cookies to provide you with the best user experience. If you like to know more about it or change your cookie settings, please click here

Home > GovStack

GovStack

Förderung der digitalen Transformation von Verwaltungsdienstleistungen

Auf einen Blick

Digitale Behördendienste – die sich in den letzten 20 Jahren weltweit explosionsartig entwickelt haben – sind für die Entwicklung einer digitalen Wirtschaft und die Förderung des wirtschaftlichen Wohlstands von entscheidender Bedeutung, da sie neue Möglichkeiten eröffnen, die bislang möglicherweise nicht zugänglich waren. Sie bieten die Möglichkeit, Regierungen beim Aufbau digitaler Gesellschaften zu unterstützen, die nicht nur Produktivitätsgewinne und wirtschaftliche Diversifizierung anstreben, sondern auch einen digitalen Zugang und die digitale Integration ihrer Bürger ermöglichen.

Mit dem Ausbau der digitalen Infrastruktur, der Konnektivität und der Verbreitung von Mobiltelefonen können digitale Behördendienste auch Transaktionen und Marktplätze unterstützen, die auf Abruf, papierlos, bargeldlos und überall verfügbar sind. Für die Bürgerinnen und Bürger wiederum können digitale Behördendienste den Zugang zu wichtigen und manchmal lebensrettenden Dienstleistungen wie Gesundheit, Bildung und Sozialschutz vergrößern.

Viele Länder, vor allem in ressourcenarmen Gebieten, haben jedoch Schwierigkeiten, mit dem Trend zur Digitalisierung von staatlichen Dienstleistungen Schritt zu halten. Die zentralen Herausforderungen sind Probleme bei der Koordinierung, der Sicherung der Finanzierung, der Skalierung von Lösungen sowie die Entstehung von Silodenken und isolierten Investitionen, die häufig zu Doppelarbeit führen. Allerdings haben viele Länder nicht die Ressourcen, um das „Rad neu zu erfinden“ oder doppelte Investitionen zu tätigen. Regierungen sind daher gefordert, in multifunktionale und sektorübergreifende digitale e-Government Lösungen zu investieren, die einfacher zu konzipieren, umzusetzen und zu skalieren sind.
Hier kommt der “Whole-of-Government-Ansatz” zum Tragen, der den Regierungen hilft, sich auf die Bereitstellung innovativer Services und Lösungen zu konzentrieren, die Bürgern, Unternehmen und dem öffentlichen Sektor Wiederverwendbarkeit, Interoperabilität und „Security by Design“ bieten.


Dieses Video stellt das SDG Digital Investment Framework von DIAL und ITU vor, auf dem die GovStack-Initiative aufbaut. Es soll Ländern helfen, bessere und strategischere Entscheidungen für ihre IKT-Investitionen zu treffen.

Zum Schutz Ihrer persönlichen Daten ist die Verbindung zu YouTube blockiert. Mit Klick auf den Play-Button heben Sie die Blockierung auf. Gleichzeitig erhalten YouTube/Google personenbezogene Daten über Ihren Zugriff auf die Webseite.

Unser Ansatz

Die von Estland, Deutschland, der Internationalen Fernmeldeunion (ITU) und der Digital Impact Alliance (DIAL) im Jahr 2020 gegründete GovStack-Initiative hat zum Ziel, einen gemeinsamen Rahmen und eine gemeinsame technische Praxis für die Entwicklung wiederverwendbarer und interoperabler digitaler Komponenten – sogenannter „Digitaler Bausteine“ – zu schaffen, die für die digitale Transformation der Verwaltung erforderlich sind.

Durch Investitionen in Digitale Bausteine, die in Kombination wichtige Funktionen zur Erleichterung allgemeiner Arbeitsabläufe bieten und die einfacher zu entwerfen, zu implementieren und über mehrere Sektoren hinweg zu skalieren sind, möchte GovStack Regierungen dabei helfen, den Kosten-, Zeit- und Ressourcenaufwand für die Erstellung oder Änderung ihrer digitalen Plattformen, Dienste und Anwendungen zu verringern. Darüber hinaus strebt GovStack danach, durch die Nutzung von Erkenntnissen aus führenden Beispielen digitaler Verwaltungen die Effektivität von Kernfunktionen und -diensten in den Partnerregierungen zu beschleunigen, unnötige Systemduplizierungen zu reduzieren, Betrug und Korruption durch Erhöhung der Sicherheit und Rückverfolgbarkeit von Transaktionen zu bekämpfen und bürgerschaftliches Engagement und Rechenschaftspflicht zu verbessern.
Vor diesem Hintergrund möchte GovStack die Eigenverantwortung der Länder für E-Government-Lösungen beschleunigen und so die Dienstleistungen für das soziale Wohlergehen verbessern.

Beispiele für IKT-Bausteine sind:

Dieses Schaubild veranschaulicht, wie IKT-Bausteine als generische Softwarekomponenten wichtige Funktionen zur Erleichterung allgemeiner Arbeitsabläufe in verschiedenen Sektoren bereitstellen können.

Unser Ziel

In Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern aus dem lokalen digitalen Ökosystem und in Anlehnung an das Digital Investment Framework der International Telecommunications Union (ITU) und der Digital Impact Alliance (DIAL) setzt GovStack bei der Forschung und Entwicklung an, um Designspezifikationen auf der Grundlage bewährter Verfahren für generische wiederverwendbare digitale Komponenten oder Bausteine zu erarbeiten. Als Nächstes wird im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit eine Modellplattform für digitale Behördendienste erstellt, die – aufbauend auf dem Catalog of Digital Solutions von DIAL –, Elemente der Wiederverwendung über Dienste und Sektoren hinweg (d. h. Anwendungsfälle) aufzeigt. Die Spezifikationen und die daraus resultierende Modellplattform werden als digitale öffentliche Güter zur Nutzung durch die globale Gemeinschaft zur Verfügung stehen, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf der Beschaffung und Umsetzung in ressourcenarmen Regionen liegt. Zur Erprobung digitaler Verwaltungsanwendungen sollen außerdem Pilotierungen von Partnern des digitalen Ökosystems in den Partnerländern durchgeführt sowie für einen nachhaltigen Kapazitätsaufbau Communities of Practice aufgebaut werden.


Hier finden Sie einen Überblick über die drei Haupttätigkeitsbereiche von GovStack:

This site uses cookies to provide you with the best user experience. If you like to know more about it or change your cookie settings, please click here.