Home > Gig Economy

Gig Economy

Promoting fair work on digital platforms

At a glance

The gig economy is characterised by a labour market comprised of freelance and short term jobs, so called ‘gigs’, in which organisations contract with independent workers on a non-permanent basis, rather than traditionally recruiting full-time employees. The gigs are usually mediated via digital labour platforms and can be either conveyed and carried out online as cloudwork (e.g., programming or content creation) or be conveyed online and carried out in an analogue and localised manner as location-based work (e.g. delivery services).
Around 40 million people in low- and middle-income countries earn part or their entire income in the gig economy, and the figure is rising. Digital platforms contribute to the creation of employment and income by lowering entry barriers. Platforms act as intermediaries that connect supply and demand, but also set the framework and rules for exchange and behaviour of workers and clients.
Despite their central position, platform companies often act purely as intermediaries and classify workers as independent contractors or self-employed. This eliminates important statutory duties of, for instance, paying a minimum wage or collective bargaining rights which leads to a precariousness of work and growing power asymmetries between platforms and workers. The risks for workers are amongst others poor pay, non-transparent dismissals, a lack of professional development opportunities and regulated processes to appeal against decisions made by the platforms, long working hours and many more. There is a lack of suitable conditions, knowledge and instruments to promote fair work in the gig economy nationally and internationally. This is where the flagship gig economy comes into play.

Our approach

The aim of the gig economy flagship is to create the necessary conditions for fair work in the gig economy at the level of 1) workers (micro level), 2) platforms (meso level) and 3) key stakeholders from politics, business and civil society (macro level). This is achieved through capacity development among relevant actors, global expansion of an evaluation mechanism for the fairness of the platforms as well as national and international awareness raising for the potentials and dangers of the gig economy.

Our goal

The project builds on the results of the collaboration with the Oxford Internet Institute in improving work on digital platforms and complements it at the level of workers and decision-makers. This holistic approach is developed to: 

  • enable workers to know their rights and acquire skills in demand, 
  • provide impulses so that platforms take measures for fair work, and   
  • support the aspirations through the development of agile regulatory frameworks.  

The ultimate goal of the flagship is to promote fair work, while counteracting unfair practices on the three levels. 

Further information

This site uses cookies to provide you with the best user experience. If you like to know more about it or change your cookie settings, please click here

Home > Gig Economy

Gig Economy

Förderung fairer Arbeit auf digitalen Plattformen

Auf einen Blick

Die Gig Economy zeichnet sich durch einen Arbeitsmarkt aus, der in großem Maße von kleinen und kurzfristigen Arbeitsaufträgen, sogenannten Gigs, geprägt ist. Diese Arbeitsaufträge werden in der Regel über digitale (Arbeits-)Plattformen vermittelt. Sie werden dabei entweder als sogenannte Cloudwork online vermittelt und ausgeführt (z.B. Programmierungs- oder Designaufträge) oder als location-based work online vermittelt aber analog und ortsgebunden ausgeführt (z.B. Fahr- und Lieferdienste).

Etwa 40 Mio. Menschen in Ländern geringen und mittleren Einkommens verdienen einen Teil oder ihren ganzen Lebensunterhalt in der Gig Economy, Tendenz stark steigend. Digitale Plattformen tragen damit zur Schaffung von Beschäftigungs- und Einkommensmöglichkeiten bei und senken mögliche Eintrittsbarrieren in den Arbeitsmarkt. Plattformen agieren als Intermediäre, die Angebot und Nachfrage verbinden, aber auch die Rahmenbedingungen für Austausch und Verhalten der Arbeiterinnen und Arbeiter sowie Auftraggeberinnen und Auftraggeber setzen.
Trotz ihrer zentralen Stellung treten Plattformunternehmen dabei oftmals als reine Arbeitsvermittler auf und klassifizieren die Arbeiterinnen und Arbeiter, die für sie arbeiten, als unabhängig Beschäftige bzw. Selbstständige. Dadurch entfallen wichtige gesetzliche Sorgfaltspflichten. Dies führt zu einer Prekarisierung von Arbeit und wachsenden Machtasymmetrien zwischen Plattformen und Arbeiterinnen und Arbeitern. Die Letzteren leiden häufig unter schlechter Bezahlung, intransparenten Kündigungen, fehlenden Möglichkeiten und geregelter Prozesse, um Einspruch gegen Entscheidungen der Plattformen einzulegen, langen Arbeitszeiten und weiteren negativen Aspekten. Es fehlen notwendige Voraussetzungen, Wissen und Instrumente zur Förderung fairer Arbeit in der Gig Economy auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene. Hier setzt das Flagship Gig Economy an.

Unser Ansatz

Das Gig Economy Flagship hat zum Ziel, die notwendigen Voraussetzungen für faire Arbeit in der Gig-Economy auf der Ebene der 1) Arbeiterinnen und Arbeiter (Mikroebene), 2) Plattformen (Mesoebene) und 3) Schlüsselakteure aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft (Makroebene) zu verbessern. Dies wird erreicht durch Sensibilisierung und Wissensaufbau sowie Capacity Development bei relevanten Akteuren, Ausbau und Skalierung eines Bewertungsmechanismus für die Arbeitsbedingungen der Plattformen sowie nationaler und internationaler Bewusstseinsbildung für die Potentiale und Gefahren der Gig Economy.

Unser Ziel

Das Projekt baut auf der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Oxford Internet Institute zur Verbesserung der Arbeitsbedingungen auf digitalen Plattformen auf und vertieft diese auf der Ebene der Arbeiterinnen und Arbeiter sowie Entscheidungsträgerinnen und -träger. Dieser ganzheitliche Ansatz soll
– Arbeiterinnen und Arbeiter in die Lage versetzen, ihre Rechte besser zu kennen und nachgefragte Fähigkeiten zu erwerben,
– Impulse setzen, sodass Plattformen selbst Maßnahme für faire Arbeit ergreifen und
– faire Arbeitsbedingungen durch die Entwicklung von agilen regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen unterstützen.

Insgesamt wird auf diese Weise faire Arbeit in der Gig Economy gefördert, während unfairen Praktiken auf den drei Ebenen entgegengewirkt werden kann.

Weiterführende Informationen

This site uses cookies to provide you with the best user experience. If you like to know more about it or change your cookie settings, please click here.