Home > WFP Innovation Accelerator

WFP Innovation Accelerator

At a glance

The UN World Food Programme (WFP) is the leading humanitarian organisation in the fight against world hunger and reached a total of 97 million people in 2019 – the largest number since 2012 – in 88 countries. The WFP provides assistance in emergencies, strengthens the resilience of communities and improves their long-term nutrition.

Innovation is in the WFP’s DNA. Over US$ 2.1 billion in monetary and voucher transfers were provided in 2019, among other measures. In addition, the WFP Innovation Accelerator was launched in 2015 in order to identify and test new ideas and scale-up promising innovations in the fight against hunger. The focus is on new technologies, such as blockchain, agricultural technology, artificial intelligence, mobile technology, drones as well as new business concepts.

Within a space of five years, the WFP Innovation Accelerator supported more than 300 projects in innovation bootcamps as well as 80 local projects in 45 countries. Fifteen innovations were able to achieve a significant impact. These projects have influenced the lives of millions of people – two million directly by October 2020 alone and many more indirectly – and will continue to do so in order to support the WFP’s field operations.

Innovations: from the idea to the impact

The WFP Innovation Accelerator gives employees, founders, companies and non-governmental organisations access to funds (up to US$ 100,000 in grant financing), active support by joint venture consultants, mentoring as well as connections to the WFP country offices. The activities of the WFP Innovation Accelerator are primarily comprised of the following modules.

  • Innovation bootcamps: The WFP innovation bootcamps are one-week intensive workshops in which the project teams use leading innovation methods to scrutinise their innovation idea and help them grow more quickly. The WFP Innovation Accelerator has held 30 bootcamps with more than 310 participating teams to date.
  • Sprint programme: The sprint programme is an intensive three- to six-month acceleration programme that provides funds (up to US$ 100,000 in grant financing) and mentoring to help projects and start-ups achieve proof of concept and develop prototypes that are ready for implementation.
  • Scale-Up Enablement programme: The Scale-Up Enablement programme enables the effective, rapid scale-up of innovations by providing customised support in the areas of strategy, fundraising, communication, knowledge management and mentoring. This puts projects in a position to multiply their impact inside and outside the WFP Innovation Accelerator.
  • Frontier innovations: The WFP Innovation Accelerator researches pioneering innovations and new technologies, such as artificial intelligence, blockchain, edge computing and robotics in order to make humanitarian aid even more effective.
  • Innovation services: The WFP Innovation Accelerator also manages accelerator and innovation programmes for other organisations (such as the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation for Primary Healthcare, Humanitarian Grand Challenge, UNFPA), which drive the progress towards the UN sustainable development goals (SDGs).

On its fifth anniversary, the WFP Innovation Accelerator was one of only 10 organisations and companies worldwide to receive the award as best workplace for innovators 2020 as well as for the best innovation team of the year from the renowned technology magazine FastCompany. In addition, in 2020 the WFP was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

Flagship projects

New technologies play an important role in the WFP Innovation Accelerator. Some of the flagship projects are:

Picture 1/8: © WFP / Al Pryor
Picture 2/8: © WFP/Sandra Raad
Picture 3/8: © WFP/Paul Guenther
Picture 4/8: © WFP/Paul Guenther
Picture 5/8: © WFP/Paul Guenther
Picture 6/8: WFP’s Global Fleet team has introduced a pioneering new vehicle to its Supply Chain – to make sure life-saving food gets to communities in the hardest-to-reach places and most challenging of circumstances.
Picture 7/8: © WFP/Mohammad Batah
Picture 8/8: WFP/Naim Hamidouche

Further Information

The WFP Innovation Accelerator welcomes innovative ideas, projects or startups to innovation.wfp.org/apply. More than 80 innovations can be discovered on the innovation.wfp.org website and social media channels:

> Twitter           > LinkedIn         > E-Mail            > YouTube        > Blog

This site uses cookies to provide you with the best user experience. If you like to know more about it or change your cookie settings, please click here

Home > WFP Innovation Accelerator

WFP Innovation Accelerator

Auf einen Blick

 

Das UN World Food Programme (WFP) ist die führende humanitäre Organisation im Kampf gegen den weltweiten Hunger und erreichte 2019 97 Millionen Menschen – die größte Zahl seit 2012 – in 88 Ländern. WFP leistet Hilfe in Notfällen, stärkt die Resilienz von und mit Gemeinden und verbessert langfristig ihre Ernährung.

Innovation ist ein Teil der DNA des WFP. Unter anderem wurden im Jahr 2019 schon über US$ 2.1 Milliarden an Bargeld- und Gutscheintransfers geleistet. Zusätzlich wurde der WFP Innovation Accelerator im Jahr 2015 ins Leben gerufen, um neue Ideen zu identifizieren, zu testen und vielversprechende Innovationen zur Bekämpfung des Hungers zu skalieren. Im Fokus stehen dabei neue Technologien wie beispielsweise Blockchain, Agricultural Technology, Künstliche Intelligenz, Mobiltechnologie, Drohnen und auch neue Geschäftskonzepte.

Innerhalb von fünf Jahren hat der WFP Innovation Accelerator mehr als 300 Projekte in Innovation Bootcamps, sowie 80 Projekte in 45 Ländern vor Ort unterstützt, wobei 15 Innovationen eine signifikante Wirkung erzielen konnten. Diese Projekte haben Millionen von Menschenleben beeinflusst – allein 2 Millionen bis Oktober 2020 direkt, und noch weit mehr Menschen indirekt – und werden dies auch weiterhin tun, um die Feldeinsätze des WFPs zu unterstützen.

Innovationen: Von der Idee zum Impact

Der WFP Innovation Accelerator bietet Mitarbeitenden, Gründer*innen, Unternehmen und Nichtregierungsorganisationen Zugang zu Finanzmitteln (bis zu US$100,000 Grant Finanzierung), aktive Unterstützung durch Venture Consultants, Mentoring sowie Verbindungen zu den WFP Landesbüros. Die Arbeit des WFP Innovation Accelerators setzt sich insbesondere aus den folgenden Bausteinen zusammen.

 

  • Innovation Bootcamps: Die WFP-Innovation-Bootcamps sind einwöchige Intensiv-Workshops, die den Projektteams helfen, ihre Innovationsidee durch führende Innovationsmethoden zu hinterfragen und auf einen schnelleren Wachstumspfad zu kommen. Der WFP Innovation Accelerator hat bisher 30 Bootcamps mit mehr als 310 teilnehmenden Teams veranstaltet.
  • Sprint-Programm: Das Sprint-Programm ist ein intensives drei- bis sechsmonatiges Beschleunigungsprogramm, das Finanzmittel (bis zu US$100,000 Grant Finanzierung) und Mentoring bereitstellt, um Projekte und Start-ups dabei zu unterstützen, den Proof-of-Concept zu erreichen und umsetzungsreife Prototypen zu entwickeln.
  • Scale-Up-Enablement-Programm: Das Scale-Up-Enablement-Programm ermöglicht die rasche Skalierung von Innovationen mit hoher Wirkung, indem es maßgeschneiderte Unterstützung in den Bereichen Strategie, Mittelbeschaffung, Kommunikation, Wissensmanagement und Mentoring bietet. Dadurch werden Projekte in die Lage versetzt, ihre Wirkung innerhalb und außerhalb des WFP Innovation Accelerator zu vervielfachen.
  • Frontier Innovations: Der WFP Innovation Accelerator erforscht bahnbrechende Pionierinnovationen und neue Technologien wie Künstliche Intelligenz, Blockchain, Edge-Computing und Robotik, um die humanitäre Hilfe noch wirksamer zu machen.
  • Innovation Services: Der WFP Innovation Accelerator führt auch Accelerator- & Innovationsprogramme für andere Organisationen (wie die Bill & Melinda Gates Stiftung fuer Primary Healthcare, Humanitarian Grand Challenge, UNFPA), die den Fortschritt in Richtung der UN-Nachhaltigkeitsziele (SDGs) vorantreiben.

 

Zum fünften Jubiläum erhielt der WFP Innovation Accelerator als eine von nur 10 Organisationen und Unternehmen weltweit sowohl die Auszeichnung als bester Arbeitsplatz für Innovator*innen 2020 als auch für das beste Innovationsteam des Jahres von dem renommierten Technologiemagazin FastCompany. Darüber hianus wurde das WFP 2020 mit dem Friedensnobelpreis geehrt.

Leuchtturmprojekte

Neue Technologien spielen im WFP Innovation Accelerator eine wichtige Rolle. Einige Leuchtturm-Projekte sind:

 

Picture 1/8: © WFP / HungerMapLIVE
Picture 2/8: © WFP/Sandra Raad
Picture 3/8: © WFP/Paul Guenther
Picture 4/8: © WFP/Paul Guenther
Picture 5/8: © WFP/Paul Guenther
Picture 6/8: © WFP/Hugh Rutherford
Picture 7/8: © WFP/Mohammad Batah
Picture 8/8: WFP/Naim Hamidouche

Weiterführende Informationen

Der WFP Innovation Accelerator freut sich über innovative Ideen, Projekte oder Startups auf innovation.wfp.org/apply

Mehr als 80 Innovationen können auf der Website innovation.wfp.org und auf den Social Media Kanälen entdeckt werden.

Twitter            LinkedIn          E-Mail             YouTube         Blog

 

 

 

 

 

 

This site uses cookies to provide you with the best user experience. If you like to know more about it or change your cookie settings, please click here.