Take part in the survey on the Toolkit Digitalisierung! Start the survey.

Home > Make-IT Initiative

Make-IT Initiative

At a glance

The Make-IT Initiative supports the establishment of local and digital innovation ecosystems for inclusive and sustainable development in the partner countries of German Development Cooperation.

The Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH implements the initiative on behalf of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ).

By identifying and harnessing digital products, services and key technologies and networking with international partners, innovation ecosystems are strengthened locally.

The initiative is implemented regionally by Make-IT in Africa and Make-IT in Asia. This is done together with the Make-IT Alliance, an alliance of (primarily) European technology companies, start-ups, associations, research & science, and non-governmental organizations.

The initiative pursues a multi-layered approach: On the one hand, it promotes the establishment of a good entrepreneurial environment (ecosystem) for young companies and innovative digital business ideas through targeted policy advice. On the other hand, we support the local innovation and entrepreneur ecosystem by improving access to training, mentoring, accelerator programs, potential business partners, networks, markets and financing. In addition, the Make-IT Alliance supports the further development and dissemination of innovative ideas by implementing projects together with local partners and the BMZ.

Make-IT Alliance

The Make-IT Alliance is a network of (primarily) European partners from the digital economy. It brings together the digital community around the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ).

The common goal is to support the development of innovation ecosystems in the partner countries of the BMZ in order to solve local challenges with digital innovations.

By joining, partners not only enter into a long-term cooperation with BMZ, they become part of a heterogeneous network of partners that jointly pool their expertise and innovative power with a view to sustainable digital development. The focus is on promoting local innovation in the partner countries. At the same time, the Make-IT alliance members have the opportunity to set up their own innovative projects and thus discover local markets in the partner countries.

Make-IT in Africa

As part of the BMZ’s Digital Africa initiative, the Make-IT in Africa regional project promotes technology startups and entrepreneurial ecosystems in the five African countries of Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Rwanda and Tunisia. Going further, startups from other African countries are supported via pan-African measures.

Since 2017, Make-IT in Africa has succeeded in creating a wealth of resources: In addition to support programs to develop relevant digital management and strategy skills, young entrepreneurs can access practical startup support manuals (known as toolkits) and country-specific investment guides. Since September 2020, there is now also an online version, the Investment Guide Africa.

The Make-IT Alliance contributes to the success of the initiative in many ways. One example is the joint #africa4future accelerator with Airbus Bizlab, a three-month funding program for tech startups in the fields of agriculture and remote sensing. #africa4future aims to foster African entrepreneurship in the fields of agriculture and remote sensing. The 2020 cohort was selected from 212 submissions from 28 African countries and received targeted funding and the opportunity to pitch their innovative business ideas to potential business partners at the virtual Africa4Future Showcase 2020.

In total, Make-IT has provided selective support to more than 400 technology startups in Africa to date. The innovative start-ups have also created around 4600 jobs in various sectors such as eHealth, FinTech, AgriTech, EduTech or Smart Energy.

Make-IT in Asia

Through Make-IT in Asia, the successful approach of the Make-IT initiative with a focus on climate, energy and green tech will be extended to the Asian continent. Together with the Digital Center Indonesia and the Digital Center Vietnam, projects under Make-IT in Asia will be implemented in these two countries from 2022. The focus is on promoting sustainable digital ecosystems on the ground.

Make-IT already conducted an ideas competition in Indonesia’s capital Jakarta for the first time in 2018 in the areas of energy and the environment. The local implementation partner of the ideas competition was Impact Hub Jakarta, a co-working space and incubator that is part of the Make-IT Alliance through Impact Hub Global. The Make-IT Alliance jury evaluated a total of 100 submissions from Indonesia and about 40 submissions from Southeast Asia in the categories of renewable energy, waste management, and agriculture and forestry. ADB, Siemens, the East Asia Association, SAP, DIHK, Afrolynk, GIZ, Bosch, and World Summit Awards, among others, got involved. The pre-selected tech startup teams will present their ideas on November 3, 2018 as part of the official social program of the high-level business conference Asia-Pacific Conference. The event was successfully held together with the federal-state program “StartupAsia Berlin”.

Meanwhile, a local funding program is co-funded by Make-IT Alliance member New Energy Nexus. The common goal is to support innovative technology startups from Indonesia’s energy sector to improve access to clean energy.

Home > Make-IT Initiative

Make-IT Initiative

Auf einen Blick

Die Make-IT Initiative unterstützt den Aufbau lokaler und digitaler Innovations-Ökosysteme für eine inklusive und nachhaltige Entwicklung in den Partnerländern der Deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit.

Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH führt die Initiative im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) durch.

Durch die Identifizierung und Nutzbarmachung digitaler Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Schlüsseltechnologien sowie der Vernetzung mit internationalen Partnern werden Innovations Ökosystem vor Ort gestärkt.

Die Initiative wird regional durch Make-IT in Afrika und Make-IT in Asien umgesetzt. Dies geschieht gemeinsam mit der Make-IT Allianz, einem Zusammenschluss von (vornehmlich) europäischen Technologie-Unternehmen, Start-ups, Verbänden, Forschung & Wissenschaft sowie Nichtregierungsorganisationen.

Die Initiative verfolgt einen vielschichtigen Ansatz: Zum einen wird durch gezielte Politikberatung der Aufbau eines guten unternehmerischen Umfelds (Ökosystems) für junge Unternehmen und innovative digitale Geschäftsideen gefördert. Zum anderen unterstützen wir das lokale Innovations und Entrepreneur Ökosystem durch verbesserten Zugang zu Trainingsmaßnahmen, Mentoring, Akzelerator-Programmen, potenziellen Geschäftspartnern, Netzwerken, Märkten und Finanzierung. Bei der Weiterentwicklung und Verbreitung innovativer Ideen unterstützt darüber hinaus die Make-IT Allianz welche Projekte gemeinsam mit den lokalen Partnern und dem BMZ umsetzt.

Make-IT Alliance

Die Make-IT Alliance ist ein Netzwerk aus (vornehmlich) Europäischen Partnern der Digitalwirtschaft. Sie versammelt die digitale Community rund ums Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ).

Das gemeinsame Ziel ist in Kooperation den Aufbau von Innovations-Ökosystemen in den Partnerländern des BMZ zu unterstützen, um lokale Herausforderungen mit digitalen Innovationen zu lösen.

Mit dem Beitritt gehen Partner nicht nur eine langjährige Kooperation mit dem BMZ ein, sie werden Teil eines heterogenen Netzwerks von Partnern, die gemeinsam ihre Expertise und Innovationskraft mit Blick auf nachhaltige digitale Entwicklung bündeln. Das Augenmerk liegt dabei auf der Förderung von lokaler Innovation in den Partnerländern. Gleichzeitig haben die Make-IT Allianzmitglieder die Möglichkeit, eigene innovative Projekte aufzusetzen und somit lokale Märkte in den Partnerländern zu entdecken.

Make-IT in Afrika

Als Teil der BMZ-Initiative Digitales Afrika fördert das Regionalvorhaben „Make-IT in Afrika“ Technologie-Start-ups und unternehmerische Ökosysteme in den fünf afrikanischen Staaten Ghana, Kenia, Nigeria, Ruanda und Tunesien. Weitergehend werden über pan-afrikanische Maßnahmen Start-ups aus weiteren afrikanischen Ländern gefördert.

Seit 2017 ist es Make-IT in Afrika gelungen, eine Fülle von Ressourcen zu schaffen: Neben Förderprogrammen zur Entwicklung relevanter digitaler Management- und Strategiekompetenzen können junge Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmer auf praktische Handbücher (so genannte Toolkits) zur Gründerförderung und länderspezifische Investment-Ratgeber zurückgreifen. Seit September 2020 gibt es nun auch eine Onlineversion, den Investment Guide Africa.

Die Make-IT Allianz trägt auf vielfältige Weise zu dem Erfolg der Initiative bei. Ein Beispiel ist der gemeinsame #africa4future-Akzelerator mit Airbus Bizlab, ein dreimonatiges Förderprogramm für Tech-Start-ups aus den Bereichen Landwirtschaft und Fernerkundung. #africa4future zielt darauf ab, afrikanisches Unternehmertum in den Bereichen Landwirtschaft und Fernerkundung zu fördern. Die 2020 Kohorte wurde aus 212 Einreichungen aus 28 afrikanischen Ländern ausgewählt und erhielt gezielte Förderung sowie die Gelegenheit, ihre innovativen Geschäftsideen beim virtuellen Africa4Future Showcase 2020 vor potentiellen Geschäftspartnern zu pitchen.

Insgesamt hat Make-IT in Afrika bisher mehr als 400 Technologie-Start-ups punktuell unterstützt. Mit den innovativen Start-ups wurden darüber hinaus rund 4600 Jobs geschaffen in den verschiedenen Sektoren wie eHealth, FinTech, AgriTech, EduTech oder Smart Energy.

Make-IT in Asien

Durch Make-IT in Asien wird der erfolgreiche Ansatz der Make-IT Initiative mit einem Fokus auf Klima, Energie und GreenTech auf den asiatischen Kontinent ausgeweitet. Gemeinsam mit dem Digitalzentrum Indonesien und dem Digitalzentrum Vietnam sollen in diesen beiden Ländern ab 2022 Projekte unter Make-IT in Asien durchgeführt werden. Schwerpunkt ist die Förderung nachhaltiger digitaler Ökosysteme vor Ort.

Make-IT führte bereits 2018 erstmalig in Indonesiens Hauptstadt Jakarta einen Ideenwettbewerb in den Bereichen Energie und Umwelt durch. Lokaler Umsetzungspartner des Ideenwettbewerbes war der Impact Hub Jakarta, ein Co-Working-Space und Inkubator, der über Impact Hub Global Teil der Make-IT Allianz ist. Die Make-IT Allianz Jury wertete insgesamt 100 Einreichungen aus Indonesien und rund 40 Einreichungen aus Südostasien aus den Kategorien erneuerbare Energie, Abfall-Management und Land- und Forstwirtschaft aus. Es engagierten sich u. a. ADB, Siemens, der Ostasiatische Verein, SAP, DIHK, Afrolynk, GIZ, Bosch und World Summit Awards. Die vorausgewählten Tech-Start-up-Teams stellen ihre Ideen am 3. November 2018 als Teil des offiziellen Rahmenprogramms der hochrangigen Wirtschaftskonferenz Asien-Pazifik Konferenz vor. Die Veranstaltung wurde erfolgreich zusammen mit dem Bund-Länder-Programm „StartupAsia Berlin“ durchgeführt.

Inzwischen wird ein lokales Förderprogramm durch Make-IT Allianz-Mitglied New Energy Nexus kofinanziert. Gemeinsames Ziel ist es, innovative Technologie-Start-ups aus Indonesiens Energiesektor zu fördern und somit den Zugang zu sauberer Energie zu verbessern.

Weiterführende Informationen