Home > Innovation > BMZ digilab > Digital Health Innovation Accelerator
Innovation

Digital Health Innovation Accelerator

The challenge

It has been clear since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic that individual countries cannot protect themselves from its effects alone. The pandemic can only be brought under control if there is a common and global commitment. Central to this is a policy of globally equitable vaccine distribution since the spread of the virus and emergence of new variants can only be contained if enough people worldwide have access to vaccinations. But as of December 2021, only 9% of the population of the continent of Africa has received a vaccination.

Our approach

In collaboration with the World Food Programme (WFP), we launched the Digital Health Innovation Accelerator. This global ideas competition and subsequent funding phase seek to strengthen vaccine distribution and pandemic response capabilities by deploying digital solutions in local health care systems. We are looking for scalable digital solutions that use open standards and open-source approaches to create global digital public goods, with a focus on building and supporting capacity for pandemic preparedness in low and middle-income countries. In this way, we are not only combating the current pandemic, but sustainably promoting systems for a fairer future.

Impact

In 2022, six digital innovations will be identified in collaboration with WFP and developed appropriately for piloting in Ghana, Côte d’Ivoire, Togo, Sierra Leone and Nigeria. Our aim is to monitor and financially support two to four of these solutions in the long term.

Home > Innovation > BMZ digilab > Digital Health Innovation Accelerator
Innovation

Digital Health Innovation Accelerator

Die Herausforderung

Schon seit Beginn der COVID-19 Pandemie ist deutlich, dass sich einzelne Länder nicht allein vor ihren Auswirkungen schützen können. Die Pandemie kann nur durch gemeinsames globales Engagement unter Kontrolle gebracht werden und eine global gerechte Impfstoffverteilung ist hierbei zentral. Denn nur, wenn weltweit genug Menschen Zugang zu Impfungen bekommen, kann die Ausbreitung des Virus und die Entstehung neuer Virusvarianten eingegrenzt werden. Trotzdem hat im Dezember 2021 erst 9% der Bevölkerung des afrikanischen Kontinents eine Impfung erhalten.

Unser Ansatz

Gemeinsam mit dem World Food Programm haben wir den Digital Health Innovation Accelerator ins Leben gerufen. Der globale Ideenwettbewerb mit anschließender Förderungsphase soll die Impfstoffverteilung und Fähigkeiten zur Pandemiebekämpfung durch digitale Lösungen in den lokalen Gesundheitssystemen stärken. Wir sind auf der Suche nach skalierbaren digitalen Lösungen, die offene Standards und open source Ansätze für die Schaffung globaler digital public goods nutzen, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf dem Aufbau und der Unterstützung von Kapazitäten zur Pandemievorsorge in Ländern mit niedrigem und mittlerem Einkommen liegt. So bekämpfen wir nicht nur die aktuelle Pandemie, sondern fördern nachhaltig Systeme für eine fairere Zukunft.

Die Wirkung

Im Jahr 2022 werden gemeinsam mit dem WFP 6 digitale Innovationen identifiziert und entsprechend weiterentwickelt, um sie Ghana, Elfenbeinküste, Togo, Sierra Leone, Nigeria zu pilotieren. Wir wollen langfristig 2-4 der Lösungen begleiten und finanziell fördern.