Home > Innovation > BMZ digilab > Digital Agriculture Africa
Innovation

Digital Agriculture Africa

Adasa John receives a phone call in her field in Rudewa Mbuyuni location near Morogoro, Tanzania on May 27, 2014.

The challenge

The agricultural sector is the driving force behind Africa’s economic development. Smallholders account for at least 80% of food production for African consumption, but remain the largest group living in poverty across the continent. Insufficient access to information, markets and investment, degraded soils and poor water management are just some of the pressing challenges which face many smallholders and may have a negative impact on productivity. Innovative applications are needed right along the value chain, particularly in rural areas, to increase agricultural yields and keep value creation local.

Our approach

Providing the expertise and services required to meet these challenges often fails at the last hurdle, because many smallholders have no access to knowledge providers. That’s why we support the Digital Agriculture Africa project with technical development and the regional expansion of a freely accessible open-source platform for digital applications in East Africa. The platform provides a wealth of knowledge on issues such as climate-smart agriculture, digital tools (including early warning systems) and free applications on the use of digital data covering all aspects of the crop cycle – from cultivation to harvest. In this way, we are also reducing pandemic-related supply shortages and price increases across the value chain.

Impact

Early figures look promising: since the platform’s launch in July 2021, more than 98,000 African smallholders have benefited from its digital services.

Together with our local partners, we have set ambitious goals for the future. By the end of 2023, we hope to increase the yield and income of one million smallholders in Kenya, Nigeria, Ethiopia, Tanzania and Uganda by introducing climate-smart innovations – for a fairer and greener world.

Infobox

  • Impact: Increased income for one million smallholders
  • Partner countries: Kenya, Nigeria, Ethiopia, Tanzania and Uganda
  • Implementation partners: GIZ, Mercy Corps, FSPN Africa, CoAmana

Home > Innovation > BMZ digilab > Digital Agriculture Africa
Innovation

Digital Agriculture Africa

Die Herausforderung

Der Agrarsektor ist die treibende Kraft der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung Afrikas. Kleinbäuerliche Betriebe tragen zu mindestens 80 % zur Nahrungsmittelproduktion für den afrikanischen Verbrauch bei, bilden aber nach wie vor die größte Gruppe, die auf dem gesamten Kontinent in Armut lebt. Unzureichender Zugang zu Informationen, Märkten und Investitionen, degradierte Böden und mangelndes Wassermanagement sind nur einige der drängenden Herausforderungen vieler Kleinbäuerinnen und Kleinbauern, die sich denkbar negativ auf die Produktivität auswirken. Innovative Anwendungen entlang der Wertschöpfungskette sind gerade in ländlichen Gebieten gefragt, um landwirtschaftliche Erträge zu steigern und die Wertschöpfung vor Ort zu halten.

Unser Ansatz

Die Bereitstellung von Fachwissen und Services, die benötigt werden, um diese Herausforderungen zu meistern, scheitert oft auf den letzten Metern, da viele Kleinbäuerinnen und Kleinbauern keinen Zugang zu Wissensquellen haben. Wir unterstützen daher das Projekt Digital Agriculture Africa bei der technischen Weiterentwicklung und regionalen Ausweitung einer frei zugänglichen open source Plattform für digitale Anwendungen in Ostafrika. Die Plattform bietet eine Vielzahl an Wissen, wie zum Beispiel zu klimafreundlicher Landwirtschaft, digitalen Werkzeugen, wie Frühwarnsystemen und kostenlosen Anwendungen zur Nutzbarkeit digitaler Daten, die alle Aspekte des Erntezyklus abdecken – vom Anbau bis zur Ernte. Damit reduzieren wir auch Pandemiebedingte Versorgungsengpässe und Preisanstiege in der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette.

Die Wirkung

Die ersten Zahlen sind vielversprechend: Seit dem Start der Plattform im Juli 2021 haben mehr als 98.000 afrikanische Kleinbauerinnen und Kleinbauern von den digitalen Angeboten der Plattform profitiert.

Für die Zukunft haben wir gemeinsam mit unseren lokalen Partnern ambitionierte Ziele. Bis Ende 2023 sollen in Kenia, Nigeria, Äthiopien, Tansania und Uganda 1 Millionen Kleinbäuerinnen und Kleinbauern ihre Erträge und Einkommen durch die Nutzung klimafreundlicher Innovationen steigern – für eine fairere und grünere Welt.

INFOBOX

  • Wirkung: Einkommenssteigerung von 1 Millionen Kleinbäuerinnen und Kleinbauern
  • Partnerländer: Kenia, Nigeria, Äthiopien, Tansania und Uganda
  • Umsetzungspartner: GIZ, Mercy Corps, FSPN Africa, CoAmana