Take part in the survey on the Toolkit Digitalisierung! Start the survey.

Home > Innovate2030 – Digital solutions for climate smart cities

Innovate2030 – Digital solutions for climate smart cities

With the launch of the Innovate2030 challenge at the COP26, the BMZ and its partners from the UNFCCC and the European Commission bring together innovators from all around the world for a global innovation program.

In 2023 the world population will cross the threshold of eight billion people. By the middle of the century, nine billion people will populate the earth. Already today, the majority live in cities, a trend that will continue to grow. Even though cities and metropolitan areas are economic powerhouses. However, they are also responsible for about 70 percent of global carbon emissions and over 60 percent of resource consumption. Rapid urbanization is leading to overburdened infrastructures, air pollution and unplanned urban sprawl. Particular developing countries are becoming a hotspot for these negative trends.

Developing our cities and communities and making them inclusive, safe, resilient, digital and sustainable is therefore one of the biggest challenges but also opportunities. Digital innovations, such as artificial intelligence, Internet of Things (IoT) and blockchain are proving unprecedented opportunities to tackle these. The ability to reach the Paris Climate Agreement goals rests on many factors, but much depends on what happens in cities.

This is the reason that this year’s Innovate2030 program initialized with BMZ digilab and in collaboration with the Make-IT Alliance, the European Commission and the UNFCCC is focusing on SDG11: “Sustainable Cities and Communities”.

 

 

 

 

Factors such as climate change and increasing urbanization require the development of new concepts to ensure a decent and sustainable living environment, while digital innovations offer unprecedented opportunities to address these challenges.

Our key questions

How can we address climate change and increase citizen engagement by strengthening sustainable cities and communities

What technologies and digital solutions can help drive these sustainability efforts? 

The challenge is based on a solution-oriented approach to climate innovation in the context of sustainable cities and communities. The key to this is to identify what digital technologies in the context of urban development must and can contribute to achieving climate and development goals.

The timeline

To find out more or submit your idea, please find all relevant information here:

Innovate2030

Nehmen Sie an der Umfrage zum Toolkit Digitalisierung teil! Jetzt teilnehmen.

Home > Innovate2030 – Digitale Lösungen für climate-smarte Städte

Innovate2030 – Digitale Lösungen für climate-smarte Städte

Mit dem Start der Innovate2030 Challenge auf der COP26 bringen das BMZ und seine Partner vom UNFCCC und der Europäischen Kommission Innovatorinnen und Innovatoren aus der ganzen Welt für ein globales Innovationsprogramm zusammen.

Im Jahr 2023 wird die Weltbevölkerung die Schwelle von acht Milliarden Menschen überschreiten. Bis zur Mitte des Jahrhunderts werden neun Milliarden Menschen die Erde bevölkern. Schon heute lebt die Mehrheit von ihnen in Städten, ein Trend, der sich weiter verstärken wird. Städte und Ballungsräume sind zwar wirtschaftliche Kraftpakete. Sie sind jedoch auch für etwa 70 Prozent der weltweiten Kohlenstoffemissionen und über 60 Prozent des Ressourcenverbrauchs verantwortlich. Die rasche Urbanisierung führt zu überlasteten Infrastrukturen, Luftverschmutzung und ungeplanter Zersiedelung. Besonders die Entwicklungsländer werden zu einem Hotspot dieser negativen Trends.

Unsere Städte und Gemeinden zu entwickeln und sie integrativ, sicher, widerstandsfähig, digital und nachhaltig zu gestalten, ist daher eine der größten Herausforderungen, aber auch eine Chance. Digitale Innovationen wie künstliche Intelligenz, das Internet der Dinge (IoT) und Blockchain bieten ungeahnte Möglichkeiten, diese Herausforderungen zu bewältigen. Ob die Ziele des Pariser Klimaabkommens erreicht werden können, hängt von vielen Faktoren ab, vor allem aber davon, was in den Städten geschieht.

Aus diesem Grund konzentriert sich das diesjährige Innovate2030-Programm, das mit dem BMZ digilab und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Make-IT Alliance, der Europäischen Kommission und dem UNFCCC initiiert wurde, auf SDG11: “Sustainable Cities and Communities”.

 

 

 

 

Faktoren wie der Klimawandel und die zunehmende Verstädterung erfordern die Entwicklung neuer Konzepte, um ein menschenwürdiges und nachhaltiges Lebensumfeld zu gewährleisten, während digitale Innovationen ungeahnte Möglichkeiten bieten, diese Herausforderungen zu bewältigen.

Unsere Schlüsselfragen

Wie können wir den Klimawandel bekämpfen und das Engagement der Bürger stärken, indem wir nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden fördern?

Welche Technologien und digitalen Lösungen können dazu beitragen, diese Nachhaltigkeitsbemühungen voranzutreiben?

Die Herausforderung basiert auf einem lösungsorientierten Ansatz für Klima-Innovationen im Kontext nachhaltiger Städte und Gemeinden. Der Schlüssel dazu ist, herauszufinden, welche digitalen Technologien im Kontext der Stadtentwicklung zur Erreichung von Klima- und Entwicklungszielen beitragen müssen und können.

Die nächsten Schritte

Um mehr zu erfahren oder Ihre Idee einzureichen, finden Sie hier alle relevanten Informationen:

Innovate2030