Home > Digital Transformation Center Cameroon

Digital Transformation Center Cameroon

The Digital Transformation Center Cameroon primarily supports projects in rural areas with a focus on marginalized population groups. In cooperation with public and private partners, issues of innovation promotion and e-government are addressed.

At a glance

With a Networked Readiness Index of 3.0, Cameroon ranks 124th out of 139 countries represented. On the one hand, the importance of internet is constantly increasing, on the other hand, internet is almost inaccessible in rural areas. Individual internet access is unaffordable for most Cameroonians and women are marginalized in terms of using this technology. Internet connections work well (mostly) in urban areas, albeit slowly. Mobile internet tariff choices in Cameroon are difficult to navigate due to the multitude of different offerings. These are all reasons why, despite a literacy rate of about 77%, the proportion of internet users in the country is only 34%.

The Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications (MINPOSTEL) has ministerial responsibility for ICT in the country. Cameroon’s Digital Strategy 2020 includes eight strategic areas whose promotion should contribute to the digital transformation in the country. These include:
1. expansion of broadband infrastructure
2. increasing the production and supply of digital content
3. ensuring the digital transformation of state institutions and companies
4. promoting digital culture by spreading the use of ICT in society
5. strengthening digital self-awareness
6. developing a local digital industry and promoting research and innovation
7. developing human capital and leadership skills in digital technology
8. improving governance and institutional support
The digital strategy was thus aligned with Cameroon’s Vision 2035 for sustainable socio-economic development and is currently being updated.

Digital ecosystem activities are mainly concentrated in the cities of Douala Yaoundé and Buea. Startups in Cameroon’s digital ecosystem are primarily pushing e-commerce, software & hardware, media & design, and fintech. Private sector associations such as the “Economie numérique” commission of the Groupement inter-patronal du Cameroun (GICAM) and private networks such as the Réseau des Professionnels du secteur des Telecommunications, des TIC et du Numérique au Cameroun (REPTIC) are tapping into the start-up culture and digital initiatives of larger business sectors to act as accelerators and coordinate developments. According to the World Bank Group, the business climate in Cameroon is hostile to investment. There are many reasons for this: lack of infrastructure, obstacles to cross-border trade, bureaucratic hurdles (e.g., registration of property), obstruction by the judiciary and financial administration and, last but not least, corruption.

Several public information systems (civil status, health information and logistics systems) and municipal administration are currently being digitized, wherefore qualified personnel is needed. German development cooperation is also supporting the Cameroonian tax administration, in particular the General Directorate of Taxes (DGl), in the acquisition and implementation of a complete, stable and efficient tax administration software (Integrated System for the Management of Taxes – SIGIT). Modernizing rural development depends on digital infrastructure and digital literacy in rural areas. Regional innovation centers can multiply digital initiatives from the hubs in Douala and Yaoundé.

Our approach

Digitalization in Cameroon is yet not a priority topic in German development cooperation, but a cross-sectional one. There are many digital initiatives within the cooperation, also at regional levels. These include innovative approaches in the pilot phase, successful approaches at scale, and comprehensive digital components (e.g., eSkills for Girls, digital community telecenters), as well as capacity-building measures aimed at broad impact (e.g., the Strategic Alliance with Orange to support the Orange Digital Center). In addition, the programmes OurVillage bilaterally and WIDU regionally support the piloting and application of digital innovations such as “blockchain” technology and digital investment systems.

There is great potential to leverage synergies in Cameroon’s digital ecosystem across a variety of partners and smaller as well as larger digital interventions. This is further multiplied by parallel initiatives from other donor institutions. In line with demand and partners’ prerequisites, the Digital Transformation Center Cameroon builds local capacity or promotes existing capacity, thus supporting self-determined digital transformation. Through the Digital Transformation Center, democratic and participatory processes are established to strengthen local, economic and social ICT structures.

Further information

Home > Digitalzentrum Kamerun

Digitalzentrum Kamerun

Auf einen Blick

Mit einem Networked Readiness Index von 3,0 belegt Kamerun Platz 124 von 139 von den dort vertretenen Ländern. Einerseits nimmt die Bedeutung des Internets ständig zu, andererseits ist das Internet in ländlichen Gegenden fast unerreichbar, der individuelle Internetzugang für die meisten Kamerunerinnen und Kameruner unerschwinglich und Frauen sind hinsichtlich der Nutzung dieser Technologie marginalisiert. Internetverbindungen funktionieren in den Städten (meistens) gut, wenn auch langsam. Die Tarifwahl des mobilen Internets in Kamerun ist aufgrund der Vielzahl von unterschiedlichen Angeboten schwer zu durchschauen. Dies alles sind Gründe, warum im Land trotz einer Alphabetisierungsrate von ca. 77% sich der Anteil von Internetnutzern auf lediglich 34% beläuft.

Das Ministerium für Post und Telekommunikation (MINPOSTEL) hat die ministerielle Zuständigkeit für IKT im Land. Kameruns Digitalstrategie 2020 beinhaltet acht strategische Bereiche, deren Förderung zur digitalen Transformation im Land beitragen soll. Darunter fallen:

  1. Ausbau der Breitband-Infrastruktur
  2. Erhöhung der Produktion und des Angebots von digitalen Inhalten
  3. Sicherstellung der digitalen Transformation von staatlichen Institutionen und Unternehmen
  4. Förderung der digitalen Kultur durch die Verbreitung der Nutzung von IKT in der Gesellschaft
  5. Stärkung des digitalen Selbstbewusstseins
  6. Entwicklung einer lokalen digitalen Industrie und Förderung von Forschung und Innovation
  7. Entwicklung von Humankapital und Führungskompetenzen in der digitalen Technologie
  8. Verbesserung von Governance und institutioneller Unterstützung

Die Digitalstrategie orientierte sich damit an Kameruns Vision 2035 für eine nachhaltige sozioökonomische Entwicklung und wird gerade aktualisiert.
Aktivitäten des Tech Ökosystems konzentrieren sich vornehmlich auf die Städte Douala Yaoundé und Buea. Startups im Tech Ökosystem Kameruns forcieren vornehmlich E-Commerce, Software & Hardware, Media & Design und Fintech. Verbände der Privatwirtschaft wie die Kommission “Economie numérique” des Groupement inter-patronal du Cameroun (GICAM) und private Netzwerke wie das Réseau des Professionnels du secteur des Telecommunications, des TIC et du Numérique au Cameroun (REPTIC) greifen die start-up Kultur und digitale Initiativen größerer Wirtschaftsbranchen auf, um als Accelerator zu fungieren und Entwicklungen zu koordinieren. Laut der World Bank Group wird in Kamerun das investitionsfeindliche Geschäftsklima beklagt. Dahinter verbergen sich vielfältige Gründe: fehlende Infrastruktur, Hindernisse im grenzüberschreitenden Handel, bürokratische Hürden (z.B. Eigentumseintragung), Behinderung durch Justiz und Finanzverwaltung und nicht zuletzt Korruption.

Mehrere öffentliche Informationssysteme (Personenstandswesen, Gesundheitsinformations- und Logistiksystem) sowie die kommunale Verwaltung werden derzeit digitalisiert, wofür qualifiziertes Personal benötigt wird. Die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit unterstützt ebenfalls die kamerunische Steuerverwaltung, insbesondere die Generaldirektion für Steuern (DGl) bei der Anschaffung und Implementierung einer vollständigen, stabilen und effizienten Steuerverwaltungssoftware (Integrated System for the Management of Taxes – SIGIT). Die Modernisierung ländlicher Entwicklung hängt von der digitalen Infrastruktur und der digital literacy in ländlichen Gebieten ab. Regionale Innovationszentren können digitale Initiativen von den Zentren in Douala und Yaoundé aus multiplizieren.

Unser Ansatz

Die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit bearbeitet Digitalisierung in Kamerun nicht als Schwerpunktthema, sondern über die Sektoren hinweg. Es besteht eine große Menge an digitalen Initiativen innerhalb der Kooperation, auch auf regionaler Ebene. Diese umfassen innovative Ansätze in der Pilotphase, erfolgreiche Ansätze in der Skalierung und umfassende Digitalkomponenten (z.B. eSkills for Girls, digitale kommunale Telezentren), sowie auf Breitenwirksamkeit ausgerichtete Capacity-Building Maßnahmen (z.B. die Strategische Allianz mit Orange zur Unterstützung des Orange Digital Centers). Zudem wird mit OurVillage bilateral und WIDU regional die Pilotierung und Anwendung digitaler Innovationen wie die „blockchain“ Technologie und digitale Investmentsysteme gefördert.

Es besteht ein großes Potential zur Hebelung von Synergien im digitalen Ökosystem Kameruns über eine Vielzahl von Partnern und kleineren sowie größeren Digitalmaßnahmen. Dies wird noch multipliziert durch parallele Initiativen anderer Geberinsitutionen. Der Nachfrage und den Voraussetzungen der Partner entsprechend, baut das Digitalzentrum lokale Kapazität auf bzw. fördert die vorhandenen Kapazitäten und unterstützt so einen selbstbestimmten digitalen Wandel. Über das Digitalzentrum werden demokratische und partizipative Prozesse zur Stärkung der lokalen, wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen IKT-Strukturen aufgebaut.

Weiterführende Informationen

This site uses cookies to provide you with the best user experience. If you like to know more about it or change your cookie settings, please click here.