Home > Digital Public Goods

Digital Public Goods

About

Following the economic concept of Global Public Goods, these originally combine three basic characteristics: non-rivalrous, non-excludable and available world-wide.

Digitalisation underlines these features in its promise of accessibility – where necessary infrastructure is provided. The UN Secretary General’s Roadmap for Digital Cooperation defines digital public goods as: “open source software, open data, open AI models, open standards and open content that adhere to privacy and other applicable laws and best practices, do no harm, and help attain the SDGs.”

Digital Public Goods play an essential role in unlocking the full potential of digital technologies and data to attain the Sustainable Development Goals, in particular for low- and middle-income countries.

In times of big data aggregations in a globalised world, it is useful to stay connected and learn from each other. For example, during the 2014–2015 outbreak of Ebola in West Africa, insights drawn from aggregated data, which were made public and shareable, played a crucial role in containing the virus. Digital public goods supported identifying new disease outbreaks, counter xenophobia and disinformation and measure impacts on vulnerable populations.

Six years later, digital solutions are also being deployed to address the COVID-19 pandemic, and already existing platforms have been adapted.
For other health crises in future, an open-source digital data package can be envisaged to accelerate case detection and open educational resources during school closures.

Challenges

Access to digital solutions is often limited through data security, copyright regimes and proprietary systems. Most existing digital public goods are not easily accessible because they are often unevenly distributed in terms of the language, content and infrastructure required to access them.

Best Practices

The following initiatives support the development of common standards on open data that can guide the private and public sectors on how to provide open access to data sets, ensuring that more data become available as digital public goods, while respecting privacy and confidentiality. Central to the implementation of digital public goods are robust human rights and governance frameworks to enhance trust in technology and data use, while ensuring inclusion.

To ensure the public sector keeps up and makes the most of technology, the World Bank Group launched in 2019 the GovTech Global Initiative. It aims to promote the use of technology to transform the public sector, improve service delivery to citizens and businesses, and increase efficiency, transparency and accountability. GovTech is a pillar of the Digital Economy Framework, providing necessary technology to foster economic growth, reduce poverty, and boost shared prosperity.

The Digital Public Goods Alliance  is a multi-stakeholder initiative with a mission to accelerate the attainment of the sustainable development goals in low- and middle-income countries by facilitating the discovery, development, use of, and investment in digital public goods.

Home > Digital Public Goods

Digital Public Goods

Digital Public Goods

In Anlehnung an das ökonomische Konzept der Globalen Öffentlichen Güter vereinen diese klassischerweise drei grundlegende Eigenschaften: nicht rivalisierend, nicht ausschließbar und weltweit verfügbar.

Die Digitalisierung unterstreicht diese Eigenschaften in ihrem Versprechen der Verfügbarkeit – sofern die notwendige Infrastruktur bereitgestellt wird. Die „Roadmap for Digital Cooperation“ des UN-Generalsekretärs definiert digitale öffentliche Güter als: „Open-Source-Software, offene Daten, offene KI-Modelle, offene Standards und offene Inhalte, die den Datenschutz und andere geltende Gesetze und Best Practices einhalten, keinen Schaden anrichten und zur Erreichung der SDGs beitragen.“

Digitale öffentliche Güter spielen eine wesentliche Rolle bei der Erschließung des vollen Potenzials digitaler Technologien und Daten zur Erreichung der Sustainable Development Goals, insbesondere für Länder mit niedrigem und mittlerem Einkommen.

Krisenbewältigung

In Zeiten großer Datenansammlungen in einer globalisierten Welt ist es sinnvoll, in Verbindung zu bleiben und voneinander zu lernen. Während des Ebola-Ausbruchs 2014-2015 in Westafrika spielten beispielsweise Erkenntnisse aus aggregierten Daten, die öffentlich gemacht und geteilt werden konnten, eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Eindämmung des Virus. Digitale öffentliche Güter unterstützten die Identifizierung neuer Krankheitsausbrüche, die Bekämpfung von Fremdenfeindlichkeit und Desinformation und die Messung der Auswirkungen auf gefährdete Bevölkerungsgruppen.

Sechs Jahre später werden digitale Lösungen auch zur Bekämpfung der COVID-19-Pandemie eingesetzt, bereits bestehende Plattformen wurden angepasst. Für andere Gesundheitskrisen in der Zukunft ist ein digitales Open-Source-Datenpaket denkbar, um die Erkennung von Fällen zu beschleunigen und Bildungsressourcen während Schulschließungen zu öffnen.

Herausforderungen

Der Zugang zu digitalen Lösungen ist oft durch Datensicherheit, Urheberrechtsregelungen und proprietäre Systeme eingeschränkt. Die meisten bestehenden digitalen öffentlichen Güter sind nicht leicht zugänglich, da sie oft ungleich verteilt sind, was die Sprache, den Inhalt und die für den Zugang erforderliche Infrastruktur betrifft.

Best Practices

Die folgenden Initiativen unterstützen die Entwicklung gemeinsamer Standards für offene Daten, die dem privaten und öffentlichen Sektor als Leitfaden für den offenen Zugang zu Datensätzen dienen können. So wird sichergestellt, dass mehr Daten als digitale öffentliche Güter zur Verfügung stehen und gleichzeitig die Privatsphäre und Vertraulichkeit gewahrt bleibt. Von zentraler Bedeutung für die Umsetzung digitaler öffentlicher Güter sind robuste Menschenrechte und Governance-Rahmenwerke, um das Vertrauen in Technologie und Datennutzung zu stärken und gleichzeitig Inklusion zu gewährleisten.

Um sicherzustellen, dass der öffentliche Sektor Schritt hält und das Beste aus Technologie macht, hat die Weltbankgruppe 2019 die GovTech Global Initiative ins Leben gerufen. Sie zielt darauf ab, den Einsatz von Technologie zu fördern, um den öffentlichen Sektor zu transformieren, die Bereitstellung von Dienstleistungen für Bürgerinnen und Bürger und Unternehmen zu verbessern und die Effizienz, Transparenz und Rechenschaftspflicht zu erhöhen.

Mehr erfahren

Die Digital Public Goods Alliance ist eine Multi-Stakeholder-Initiative mit dem Ziel, die Erreichung der nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele in Ländern mit niedrigem und mittlerem Einkommen zu beschleunigen, indem sie die Erforschung, Entwicklung, Nutzung und Investition in digitale öffentliche Güter erleichtert.

Mehr erfahren

This site uses cookies to provide you with the best user experience. If you like to know more about it or change your cookie settings, please click here.