Home > Data Economy

Data Economy

Towards a fair and inclusive Data Economy

At a glance

Globally, the digital economy is growing at a rapid pace. In Africa alone, tech startups grew 10-fold between 2014 and 2019.
As a result, a data economy has developed in recent years whose commodity is primarily personal data: Sales platforms, smart home appliances, fitness trackers or navigation apps generate valuable user profiles in real time. The value creation of these data streams has so far mostly been in the hands of large tech companies. Developing countries are thus currently only able to benefit from the data economy to a limited extent.
In the future, however, political self-determination and further development potential will increasingly depend on the ability to put value to the data obtained locally.
In addition to data expertise and local data centers, this requires above all solidly implemented and harmonized data protection regulations across countries, which are often inadequate in our partner countries.

 

Our approach and goal

Our Data Economy Flagship promotes the development of a data-driven economy by advancing the implementation of data regulation and testing the sharing of data to drive local innovation to support local value creation. In collaboration with the Smart Africa Secretariat, national regulators, and the private sector, the project has three objectives:

Home > Data Economy

Data Economy

Für eine faire und inklusive Datenwirtschaft

Auf einen Blick

Weltweit wächst die Digitalwirtschaft in rasantem Tempo. Angetrieben über Inkubatoren, Acceleratoren und Innovation-Hubs sind Tech-Gründungen in Afrika zwischen 2014 und 2019 um das 10-fache gewachsen.

In den letzten Jahren hat sich eine Datenwirtschaft entwickelt, die ihren Wert vor allem aus personenbezogenen Daten speist. Dies ist nicht zuletzt dank vermehrter Vernetzung einfacher und wirtschaftlicher geworden und wird zusätzlich durch verstärkten Einsatz von IoT Objekten vorangetrieben, die Daten von Verbraucherinnen und Verbrauchern in Echtzeit generieren. Die Wertschöpfung der Datenströme liegt zumeist in der Hand großer Techunternehmen. Entwicklungsländer können so gegenwärtig nur in geringem Ausmaß von der Datenwirtschaft profitieren.

Wirtschaftliche Prosperität und politische Selbstbestimmung werden daher in Zukunft zunehmend von der Fähigkeit abhängen, gewonnene Daten lokal in Wert setzen zu können.
Dafür braucht es neben Datenkompetenz und digitaler Infrastruktur vor allem auch solide umgesetzte und länderübergreifend harmonisierte Datenschutzregulierungen, die im Globalen Süden noch nicht ausreichend vorhanden sind.

Unser Ansatz und Ziel

Das Data Economy Flagship fördert die Entwicklung einer datengetriebenen Wirtschaft, indem es die Umsetzung von Datenregulierung vorantreibt und die gemeinsame Nutzung von Daten zur Förderung lokaler Innovationen erprobt. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Smart Africa Allianz, nationalen Regulierungsbehörden und dem Privatsektor verfolgt das Flagship drei Ziele:

This site uses cookies to provide you with the best user experience. If you like to know more about it or change your cookie settings, please click here.